Skip to content

Ouch My Face EP

May 15, 2009

photoI’m sure someone said, ‘Ouch My Face!’ when a track from Ouch My Face’s debut EP suddenly comes on while listening to music on random. This three piece, power punk outfit from Melbourne are nice and aggressive and know how to poke you in the eye at right moments.

As silly as it sounds, this kind of  aggressive punk has been somewhat neglected in Australia for a few years now. But Ouch My Face have arrived, balls and all, screaming, ‘Dickheads!’ at the top of their lungs. It puts a small smile of my face when I first heard this EP. I personally haven’t been excited about a pure punk release for many years. I guess it all went a little downhill in the early 2000s when major labels couldn’t wait to sign the next big punk act. It all fizzled out and we were left with scrappy attempts at bringing the more aggressive style of punk rock back.

Ouch My Face have put much faith in a high energy sound. The sound goes deeper than punk with a guitar sound that hooks into some very metal roots. It has a very over the top, angry vocal style from Celeste Potter that has a Karen O quality. Very punk and very cool when thrown into the overall mix. My only criticism would be that the EP is all over far too soon. Fun while it lasts though and hopefully hints at bigger things to come.

Myspace: Ouch My Face

No comments yet

Leave a comment